Man With Leukaemia Told To Find Work By The DWP

Same Difference

A man with leukaemia who doctors say is too sick to work has been told by the Job Centre that he is not doing enough to find a job.

Michael Ward, 59, of Southowram, says he has been told by Job Centre officials that he is not sick enough to claim Employment and Support Allowance (ESA) and is not entitled to Jobseeker’s Allowance (JSA) because he is not actively seeking work.

Mr Ward has lived with chronic leukaemia for 18 months and was diagnosed with severe arthritis in his left knee in 2012.

“I’m getting fed up of the Job Centre rejecting me all the time because of what I’ve got,” he said. “I can’t cope with getting a job and they say I’m fit for work – which I’m not.”

“I keep trying to explain to them, but it keeps going over their heads – they’re trying to push…

View original post 291 more words

Leave a Reply

