Cerebral Palsy And Anorexia- One Man’s Experience

Same Difference

Ryan Branson told BBC Ouch about having Cerebral Palsy and anorexia.

When I was three I was diagnosed with cerebral palsy. Though described as “mild” it affects my mobility and balance so I use a walker-frame or scooter to get around.

Growing up was difficult because of my disability. People at school imitated my walking, called me “crip” and said hurtful things such as, “go and sit with your friends – oh you don’t have any”. I felt excluded and became very lonely.

When I got to secondary school I became fixated on people noticing my disability. I had no real friends, became very depressed and dreaded going to school every day.

I started to think I just wanted to disappear – I didn’t want to deal with people judging me. I thought that if I lost weight my peers would have nothing else to make fun of me about…

View original post 951 more words

Leave a Reply

