Still Alice Filmmaker Richard Glatzer Dies From MND At 63

Same Difference

Richard Glatzer, the co-writer and director of the Oscar-winning film Still Alice, has died aged 63.

Glatzer was diagnosed with motor neurone disease in 2011, soon after he and his husband, Wash Westmoreland, began adapting Still Alice.

He was too unwell to attend last month’s Academy Awards, when Julianne Moore picked up the best actress Oscar for her leading role in the film.

Westmoreland said Glatzer’s courage “inspired me and all who knew him”.

“I am devastated,” Westmoreland said, in a statement. “Rich was my soulmate, my collaborator, my best friend and my life.”

“In this dark time, I take some consolation in the fact that he got to see Still Alice go out into the world. He put his heart and soul into that film, and the fact that it touched so many people was a constant joy to him.”

Moore simply tweeted: “I love you Richard.”

The…

View original post 381 more words

Leave a Reply

