Our demonstration yesterday and a paralysed man told he has to apply for a job hod carrying roof tiles.

The poor side of life

Yesterday was a very cold day and a  tough day to be standing outside. I arrived at the venue Ashton Under Lyne Jobcentre. I was greeted by two people from channel 5 wanting to speak to people that are living on universal credit. They are making a programme along the lines of benefits street. A programme that I despise. I said to them they are more than welcome to chat to people but their programme has nothing to do with our group. I made my feelings clear about how this programme and others like it have helped to demonise the poor. They said it would be different so I gave him the benefit of the doubt… But I will not hold my breath. Programme like that do nothing to help our cause.

Onto the terrible sanction stories heard yesterday. One woman given a 4 month sanction for not attending a…

View original post 518 more words

Leave a Reply

