Finding A Job When Colour Blind

Same Difference

This is the second in a series of three guest posts that Tony Holden has kindly agreed to write for Same Difference on colour blindness. Tony blogs at Cynical Chatter From The Underworld. He also runs the UK Disabled Bloggers group blog. Thanks to Tony.

I’ve already described the joys of school as a colour blind person, while that could be hard work with the snide comments and stupid questions, it was nothing compared to joining the working world.

My first problems came in school careers interviews, those conducting them knew less about colour blindness than I did, and they didn’t know I was colour blind until I told them. Even though I was already planning on joining the Army and told them so, they just didn’t have a clue, I had no warning at all of what was to come.

One spring morning I wandered into the Army Careers Office…

View original post 956 more words

Leave a Reply

